If I Were a Lion

If I Were a Lion

If I Were a Lion

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If I Were a Lion

Kitty Black

Giuseppe Poli

Wombat Books, 2023

32pp., hbk., RRP $A24.99

 9781761110191

I wish I was a lion. If I were a lion, I would be fierce, wild, and free.

When asked about their favourite animal, many young children choose a lion because they see it as being the king of the jungle with all sorts of attributes like strength and courage that they themselves wish they have.  In this new release, the reader follows the journey of different children who also wish they were lions and could be fierce and wild and free, brave,  dominant and able to roar, curious and courageous.  But as they wish they had these qualities, they realise  that they already possess them – it’s just that they manifest themselves differently.

Words and pictures combine cleverly to show young readers that they are indeed, already lions. 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email