I’m a Dirty Dinosaur

I'm a Dirty Dinosaur

I’m a Dirty Dinosaur

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m A Dirty Dinosaur

Janeen Brian

Ann James

Puffin Books, March 2013

hbk., 22pp., RRP $A19.99

9780670076154

 

“I’m a dirty dinosaur with a dirty snout,

I never wipe it clean

I just sniff and snuff about.

Sniff, sniff, snuff, snuff,

Sniff and snuff about.”

 

This little dinosaur just loves mud and little children just love mud and dinosaurs. And, if they are anything like my Miss Nearly 2, they are going to love this story by a proven partnership of author and illustrator. Whenever I look for books for my little people, I look for titles which feature rhythmic, rhyming and repetitive text so they are encouraged to join in and experience the beauty of our language rolling around their tongue.  But how much better when there are also words like sniff and snuff and stamp and stomp that have to be acted out.  This is a delightful dinosaur with attitude and we had heaps of fun with it.

But best of all, Miss 6 who is nearly an independent reader, then read it again with great gusto to her little sister after a fun day outside while Grandma ran the bath … and when you read the ending you will know what happened next!

One of my tests for a great read-aloud is whether I can hear myself reading it before I actually do .. with this one I could even hear my friend reading it to her little one, another dinosaur fanatic.  Initially, I thought it was more for pre-school but now hearing and seeing Miss 6 have so much fun with it, I’d extend that to the end of Year 1, even early Year 2.  A good title for that perennial dinosaur unit so that everyone has a story they can read.

 

A peek inside...

A peek inside…

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email